The Waikato Chamber of Commerce and Industry was incorporated on November 3, 1936, however, it was formed in 1906.  The early seeds were sown in 1865, when there were concerns about the influence of Auckland on the region. June 24, 1906 was when the first meeting was called to discuss the establishment of a Chamber of Commerce in Hamilton. The first president of the Chamber was George Sare.


The Chamber has a place in the community through its advocacy and its focus on learning and development. However, the Waikato Chamber of Commerce’s place within the New Zealand chamber network, is part of the northern region network. That is that we belong to a group of chambers – Auckland being the biggest that are in the upper North Island – Hawkes Bay and up. The immediate Waikato Chambers are us, Cambridge, Morrinsville, Te Awamutu, Matamata and Raglan. These are all part time positions. We also are affiliated to the International Chambers of Commerce (ICC).


This product has been added to your cart